ITIL Practitioner Level

The ITIL Practitioner Level qualification has been developed to provide a step between Foundation and the Intermediate Level and aims to improve the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL in their organizations. The ITIL® Practitioner certification offers practical guidance on how to adopt and adapt the ITIL framework to support your business’ objectives. ITIL Practitioner covers the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) approach as the way to structure any improvement initiatives

ITIL Practitioner also covers  key areas crucial for success of any improvement initiatives

  • Organizational Change Management
  • Communication
  • Measurement and Metrics.
  • Managing services across the service lifecycle
  • Governance and organization
  • Measurement
  • Implementing and improving service management capability

9 Guiding Principles to adopt for ITIL Practitioner Level:

  1. Focus on value
  2. Design for experience
  3. Start where you are
  4. Work holistically
  5. Progress iteratively
  6. Observe directly
  7. Be transparent
  8. Collaborate
  9. Keep it simple.

Target Audience:

The qualification prepares candidates to work in established service management roles, as well as to implement and improve service management practices. The target group for the ITIL Practitioner qualification includes, but is not limited to:

  • IT operations, technical, or IT management personnel
  • IT Managers
  • Supervisors
  • IT professionals
  • IT operations practitioners
  • IT development

Exam Format:

  • Prescribed Question format is Multiple Choice Questions(MCQS).
  • There will be 40 questions in the exams
  • 28 marks are required to pass (out of 40 available) – 70%
  • The duration of the exam is135 minutes’
  • This exam is an Open book test.


    • To take the ITIL Practitioner exam, individuals must hold an existing ITIL Foundation certificate.
    • ITIL Practitioner is not a prerequisite for the ITIL Intermediate Level qualifications.
    • ITIL Practitioner is worth three credits towards the ITIL Expert qualification.
    • ITIL Practitioner is also worth 15 points towards your ITIL digital badge as part of our ITIL Membership programme.
    • The examination is open book and made up of multiple choice questions based on a scenario.